Potage Parmentier

This was my masterpiece this evening. So simple and decadent, given the proper time, nothing could be easier and more filling.

What you need:
3-4 quart saucepan
1 lb peeled potatoes, sliced or diced
3 cups of leeks thinly sliced; including the tender green or yellow onions.
(leeks are not an easy thing to find in my local markets, I used a half and half mix of green onions and yell onions)
2 quarts of water
1 tbsp salt
4-6 tbsp whipping cream or half that of soft butter
2-3 tbsp minced parsley or chives

((Optionally, you can add essentially anything you want to your soup like broccoli, cauliflower, beans… anything really. I added carrots, string beans and celery and a lot of cream 🙂 I liked the idea of it being very simple but I wanted a little more substance))

Mind you all of my beans are blanched first.

Simmer all of your veggies together partially covered for about 45 minutes. Obviously, If you’re cooking fresh beans you wouldn’t want to throw your… oh potatoes, for instance, in for awhile unless you plan on cooking them to mush. Depending on how large you’ve cut them… Idk… you’ll figure that out, lol.
Once all of your vegetables are tender mash them with a fork in the soup. Alternately, Julia says you can pass the soup through a food mill. Correct the seasoning and set aside until serving. Personally, I’d have rather been able to somewhat puree the vegetables to make the soup more smooth. Instead of a fork, oh my the time that would take, I have a potato masher with a wide bottom that was perfect for mashing up the vegetables.

Reheat to a simmer just before serving, remove from heat and stir in the cream or butter by spoonfuls.
This is where I conquered my soup with a large amount of cream. Garnished with a little fresh parsley. Simplicity in its greatest perfection.

Leave a comment